top of page

The Journey Behind Our Passion Project

March 22, 2024

 

Lianna's Reflection

At first, my response to the passion project was a mix of nervousness and excitement. This would be my first big step into making change in my community, and I was very excited, although a little nervous about actually putting it into motion. I love helping others, but I have never done anything of this scale before. This made it difficult for me to find what I wanted to do for my passion project, as I wanted it to be something I would be proud of for years to come. 


In the beginning, all I knew was that I wanted to do something to help others and that I wanted to do it with Ellie. I love working with her, as we share many of the same interests and have known each other for a very long time. Once we got to brainstorming, it didn’t take us long to find what we wanted to do. Ever since we started high school, Ellie and I have had trouble picking what we wanted to do for our post-secondary pathway, and it has been causing us quite a bit of stress. From there, we decided that we would merge our two passions together and try to create something that would help others find what they want to do for their post-secondary pathway without all the stress that we had to face. 


We want our passion project to be a website where students can find different resources to learn more about different post-secondary pathways. We want to make it easier for students to learn about what types of pathways there are after high school, how to find what they are passionate about, and even what the transition after high school is like. We also want to interview people who are in post-secondary or are working about what their life is like, what they did to get where they are, as well as if they would recommend it to others. 


I am most excited for the interview portion of our passion project because I feel that it will make the most impact on students as it helps people get a feel for each pathway. While I am nervous that finding people to interview might be hard, I know that the effort we put in will be worth it in the end. Overall, I hope that our passion project will be able to help others not feel so overwhelmed about leaving high school and starting their new journey in life.


 

Ellie's Reflection

When I was first told about the passion project assignment I was really excited to focus more on the “do-ership” of leadership and to put what I had learned about leadership so far into an actual project that could have a positive impact on others. I have learned quite a bit of theoretical knowledge involving leadership, and have done a few projects for KRT,  but I haven’t had many chances to channel some of my passions into a major assignment. I was excited about working on a project revolving around a passion of my choice since I knew that it would be a lot more fulfilling and energizing. 


Then, I had to decide what to do for my passion project. I knew right away that I wanted to work on it with Lianna because we are very close and share many of the same interests. The hardest part was deciding which passion to turn our project into. We decided that combining the passions of helping others and improving mental health, while also doing it in a way where we could learn more about which post-secondary pathway to take was what we wanted to do. 


Lianna and my vision for our passion project is to create a website that includes interviews with people from various post-secondary pathways, descriptions of the pathways, resources for students to use if they need help finding their passion, and information about the transition from high school to that particular pathway. We hope that by doing this it will reduce some of the stress of picking what to do after high school for ourselves and many others, as we know that it can be very overwhelming trying to pick from all of the options. We hope that knowing about all the different options will help others reach a decision easier. 


For this project, I am most excited to learn more about post-secondary pathways while doing it in a way that can have a lasting impact on upcoming students at Bluevale. I am also looking forward to interviewing some of the people in our community and learning more about them, as I've learned so much about the value of community during high school and especially C2L.


Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page