top of page

A Look Into Our Classmates' Projects

June 10, 2024


 

Lianna's Reflection

Casey - Coaching Track :

The first blog that I checked out was Casey’s. Her passion project is helping out with the younger age group at her track team. Looking through her project I can tell she is genuinely passionate about helping her track community. I love how she decided to connect with the runners she coaches on a personal level to help them stay healthy. I also like that she makes sure that they understand that their track performance isn't the most important thing in their life. Some questions that I have for her are:

  • What has been your favourite moment with the runners so far?

  • What did you do to be able to connect with the runners on a personal level?

  • Do you plan on helping coach for the rest of the year even once our passion projects are finished?

Carson - Natural Harmony:

The second blog that I looked at was Carson’s. His passion project is about showing the importance of nature by encouraging others to get outside and share what they love about it. I like how he was able to turn something he loves into something that benefits the community. I found his website very informative and really liked how he was able to showcase local photographers on his photos page. I had fun looking through all of the photos and learning more about nature. Some questions that I have for him are:

  • Have you been able to see any new animals that you haven't seen before?

  • What is your favourite memory from kayaking?

  • Have you learned anything new on your adventures?

Sam R. - Helping Teach:

Sam’s was the third blog that I decided to look at. Her passion project is running games and activities at her old elementary school. Her website was very informative and easy to read as it is very thorough and organized. I like how she kept a detailed record of what she did to prepare for her project. I also love how passionate she is about her project as she seems to have put a lot of thought and effort into it. Some questions that I have for her are:

  • What was your favourite memory with the students?

  • What types of games did the students like the best?

  • What did you do if a student didn't want toparticipate?


 

Ellie's Reflection

Isaac R & Carter M - Pickleball:

Isaac and Carter's passion project was the first blog I chose to look at because I participated in their pickleball tournament at Bluevale. I had a lot of fun playing in it, and I hope it happens again next year because I would definitely sign up to participate in it again! Their goal was to help others learn the rules of pickleball while sharing their passion for the sport. I believe this was an excellent approach to accomplish that goal because my friend and I learned the rules through the tournament despite having never played pickleball before. Some questions I have for them are:

  • Were there any students at Bluevale who wanted to participate but couldn’t?

  • Did they end up posting educational videos online like they had initially planned?


Paige M, Serena, & Jayda - Lead Together:

The next passion project I decided to look at was Paige, Serena, and Jayda’s. They went to St. Luke Catholic Elementary School and gave lessons on different leadership skills and then at the end ran a scavenger hunt where the students could put the skills they learned to use. I loved how they were able to return to their former school and reconnect with the teachers and community there while also using what they had learned in their leadership classes at Bluevale. Some questions I have for them are:

  • How did they modify their lessons each time they returned in order to improve them?

  • What was their favourite part about working with the kids?

  • How did they choose which age category to target for their project?


Carson - Natural Harmony:

The third passion project I looked at was Carson's. He decided to create a website and YouTube channel dedicated to educating people about various wildlife and the value of nature. I believe his idea is fantastic since he is very passionate about the outdoors, and it is an excellent way for him to share the knowledge he has gained from his adventures exploring the outdoors. Some questions I have for him are:

  • What more did he learn about nature while working on his passion project?

  • How does he plan to promote his website and YouTube channel?

  • What was the biggest challenge he faced while working on his project?

 

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page